Winners of the 15th national Cycling Luminaries Awards have been announced at a Gala dinner held as part of the 2018 Australian Bicycle Summit in Melbourne on 14th and 15th May.

The Summit organised by We Ride Australia brought together Australian bicycle sector organisations with industry & corporate leaders and government decision makers to engage on the impact of new technology, autonomous and electric mobility and future strategies for bicycling.

The 2019 Awards were announced with Summit Principal Partner, the Transport Accident Commission, represented by CEO Joe Calafiore at the Gala Awards Dinner held at Marvel Stadium.

The Awards ceremony was held in presence of invited VIPs and guests from across Australia. The Awards winners were:

The finalists were selected from a pool of nominations from across Australia that included the people, places and programs that are making Australia a better place to ride a bicycle.

Notably all finalists in the Leadership category were women, and Government programs and a new housing development led the way in the other Award categories.

Further information on the winners follows.

Cycling Luminaries Award for Leadership

Winner: Fiona Campbell

2019 AUSTRALIAN BICYCLE SUMMIT- Neelesh Mehta – Michelin by Bikecorp presents the Award for Leadership with Joe Calafiore, Transport Accident Commission to Fiona Campbell, City of Sydney at the Awards dinner at Marvel Stadium, Docklands. Photo: Andrew Taylor.

Fiona Campbell is leading the City of Sydney’s vision to build a city for bikes. Under her leadership, the City has established regular cycling education for adults and children, an innovative Share The Path program that has been replicated around the world, guided rides and the highly successful annual Sydney Rides Festival.

Fiona has a reputation nationally and beyond as an inspirational leader in major city cycling policy and delivery. Known for her strong evidence-based approach to boosting cycling in the City of Sydney, she is living her dream to make Sydney a better place for bikes.

The Official Sponsor of the 2019 Cycling Luminaries Award for Leadership was Michelin by Bikecorp.

Cycling Luminaries Award for Bike Culture

Winner: the ACT Government

2019 AUSTRALIAN BICYCLE SUMMIT- Simon Woolmer, Swisse Wellness presents the Award for Bike Culture with Ryan O’Keefe, We Ride Australia Ambassador, Andrew Cricton and Geoffrey Davidson, ACT Government at the Awards Dinner at Marvel Stadium, Docklands. Photo: Andrew Taylor.

A collaboration between three ACT Government departments and community partners is creating a positive active travel culture in ACT school children. Initiatives include

– Ride or Walk to School
– It’s Your Move Safe Cycle
– Active Streets for Schools
– School Crossing Supervisors and
– School Traffic Management Plans.

The ACT Government’s approach is comprehensive, and has been driven across government portfolios to engage with the community and school children in particular. This all of Government approach gives the ACT a great chance to change the game for cycling in the ACT.

The Official Sponsor of the 2019 Cycling Luminaries Award for Bike Culture was the Ride to Work Scheme, powered by Swisse.

Cycling Luminaries Award for Built Environment

Winner: Aura Stockland

2019 AUSTRALIAN BICYCLE SUMMIT- Martin Clucas, Giant Bicycles presents the Award for Built Environment with Tim Papandreou, Emerging Transport Advisers to Mark Stephens, Aura, Stocklands at the Awards Dinner at Marvel Stadium, Docklands. Photo: Andrew Taylor.

The approach to the planning and delivery of cycle infrastructure at Aura is unique and has set a new benchmark for large scale master planned communities. Their partnership with state and local government, planning and commitment to two-way, veloways connecting with surrounding communities and delivery of programs has resulted in their selection as a finalist.


The Official Sponsor of the 2018 Cycling Luminaries Award for Built Environment was Giant Bicycles.

Awards key facts:

Media contact: Stephen Hodge 0411 149 910,