We Ride Australia has today opened the call for nominations for the 2023 National Cycling Luminaries Awards.

2018 Gala Awards Dinner, International Towers Sydney, Barangaroo, NSW. Photo: Jessica Hromas

For more than twenty years, these nationally significant Awards have recognised the champions getting more Australians riding bikes from as far away as remote Kimberley and Gulf communities as well as in our regional towns and capital cities.

2022 Gala Awards Dinner, winners from L-R: (L-R) Roxanne Thornton, Marie Lawton, Osher Gunsberg MC, Julia Dempster & Michelle Prior, DoT WA. Photo Andrew Taylor.

WeRide’s Peter Bourke says “the Cycling Luminaries Awards shine a spotlight on the people, places and programs that are getting more people riding across the nation.

“The Awards have consistently recognised the incredible diversity of cycling programs and un-sung heroes and this is our chance to celebrate those people and promote progress in bike riding over the last 12 months.

He wants people across Australia to consider nominating the person, group or project making a difference for people riding bikes wherever they are in the country and nominate them now for an award and the recognition they deserve.

2019 Awards: L-R Simon Woolmer (Swisse – SPONSOR), Andrew Crichton and Geoffrey Davidson (ACT Government – Award Winner) and Ryan O’Keefe (AFL Legend and We Ride Australia Ambassador). Photo Andrew Taylor.

Previous winners have included a program for pupils on Goulburn Island, 300km northeast of Darwin that boosted attendance at school; the Barossa Council in SA focusing on cycle tourism opportunities in the wine region; and in 2017 a special Women’s Achievement Award was made based on the outstanding achievements of women nominees received.

2018 Awards Gala Dinner with Marcia Ella-Duncan OAM and guests incl. Phoebe Dunn and Tina McCarthy. Photographer Jessica Hromas.

The award winners will be announced as part of a Gala Dinner in Parliament House in Canberra on November 15 in conjunction with the launch of the 2023 WeRide National Cycling Economy Report by EY.

Nominations are open to any individual, group, business, event, organisation or school that has achieved significant change and inspired or influenced others. There are three categories with the judging panel able to make special Awards to recognise outstanding nominations received.

Check out about the Awards here and nominate your heroes and champions for a Cycling Luminaries Awards on the nomination form here.

Nominations closing date: 5pm, Tuesday the 12th September 2023.

Mark Stephens (AURA by Stockland) accepting the 2019 Award for Built Environment at Marvel Stadium Melbourne. Photo Andrew Taylor.