We Ride Australia

Cycling Luminaries Awards

Celebrating the people and programs that get Australia riding

See the 2019 Award Winners

About the awards

The Cycling Luminaries Awards celebrate the ideas and people that are leading the future or local, national and international cycling cultures.

With individuals, programs and organisations creating the environment, the atmosphere and the vison that makes cycling both the opportunity and the solution, these awards celebrate the leadership and visions from across all parts of Australia.

Awards were given out in the categories of Bike Culture and Behaviour Change, Built Environment and Leadership categories. See below for links to each category.

The 16th Cycling Luminaries Awards will be held as part of the Parliamentary Friendship Group event at Parliament House on the 20th October in Canberra.

Read more

Key dates

Nominations open


July 2021

Nominations closed


September 2021

Finalists notified


September 2021

Awards dinner


October 2021


  • Michael Nieuwesteeg

    Michael has managed the Road Safety Research Team of the Transport Accident Commission since 2008. He is responsible for the TAC’s extensive road safety and marketing research ...

  • Myfanwy Lawrence

    Myfanwy is an experienced Integration Manager with a demonstrated history of working in the transport and education sectors. Skilled in Urban Planning, Government, Road ...

  • Stuart Outhred

    Stuart is an urban planner with a keen interest in how cities function and the health of the people that live in them. He has worked in roles spanning the public and ...

  • Jo Lees

    With a strong engineering and project management background, Jo has supported and promoted greater integration of active transport within the design and delivery of major ...

Award Nominations:

See the 2019 Award Winners