For immediate release – Monday, 24 October 2022

The national Cycling Luminaries Awards are back on after a COVID hiatus and WeRide is pleased to announce the four independent judges who will determine the winners.

The independence and integrity of the selection process is a feature of these important national Awards which have been conducted since 2002 and winners will be announced at a Gala Awards Dinner in Sydney on November 25.

The members of the judging panel represent senior policy and industry leaders from diverse sectors of transport, the bicycle industry and health research.

Our judges will consider nominations from all parts of Australia, from our cities to the most remote and regional areas of the country. All nominations are considered under three categories –

  • Leadership – the people that get Australia riding
  • Bike Culture – the programs that get Australia riding, and
  • Built Environment – the places that get Australia riding.

Gala Awards Dinner part of the Micromobility Conference

The Gala Awards Dinner will be held as part of the Micromobility Conference at Randwick Racecourse on Friday evening, 25th November. The conference will promote urban #micromobility and showcase adaptable, environmentally friendly solutions revolving around electric lightweight and micro-vehicles including e-bikes and e-scooters and so much more!

Tickets for the Gala Dinner are available online as part of a conference package or separately. Go to and click on register to get yours today!

Independent judging panel

Elizabeth Calleja, Senior Advisor, Physical Activity at the Heart Foundation

Elizabeth has extensive experience in public health both as a clinician and project manager. She has worked in local government, state government and most recently within the not-for-profit sector at the National Heart Foundation.

Darren Harper, General Manager Sales and Marketing, FE Sports

Darren Is a senior sales manager in the cycling sector. With a long history of senior sales and marketing roles, Darren has a strong understanding of the bicycle industry along with the key requirements to achieve change within an industry or the community.

Michael Nieuswesteeg, Program Manager, Road Safety and Design – Austroads

Michael has extensive experience managing and leading the national conversation as the Program Manager, Road Safety Research at Austroads. He was previously responsible for the Road Safety Research Team of the Transport Accident Commission.

Michelle Quester, National Program Manager, Automobile Association of Australia

Michelle has over 20 years experience in a variety of management roles in the indigenous sector and pharmaceutical and automotive peak bodies. Her current role has a strong focus on road safety research, and the translation of research into real world outcomes for the community.

For more information on our independent judging panel see

For more information on the Cycling Luminaries Awards see

Media contact

Peter Bourke – We Ride Australia – 0438 871 271 –