We Ride Australia

2019 Cycling Luminaries Awards

Celebrating the people and programs that get Australia riding

See the 2019 Award Winners

About the awards

The 15th Cycling Luminaries Awards were held as part of the 2019 Australian Bicycle Summit in Melbourne, Australia. The winners of the awards were announced at the Summit Gala Dinner at Marvel Stadium, Docklands on the evening of Wednesday 15th May.

Awards were given out in the categories of Bike Culture and Behaviour Change, Built Environment and Leadership categories. See below for links to each category.

Read more

Key dates

Next round of nominations 2020!


February 2020

Nominations closed


April 2019

Finalists notified


April 2019

Awards dinner


May 2019


  • Michael Nieuwesteeg

    Michael has managed the Road Safety Research Team of the Transport Accident Commission since 2008. He is responsible for the TAC’s extensive road safety and marketing research ...

  • Myfanwy Lawrence

    Myfanwy is an experienced Integration Manager with a demonstrated history of working in the transport and education sectors. Skilled in Urban Planning, Government, Road ...

  • Stuart Outhred

    Stuart is an urban planner with a keen interest in how cities function and the health of the people that live in them. He has worked in roles spanning the public and ...

  • Jo Lees

    With a strong engineering and project management background, Jo has supported and promoted greater integration of active transport within the design and delivery of major ...

Award Nominations:

See the 2019 Award Winners